You Belong To Me

Standard

Two of my favorite shows on TV are “Criminal Minds” and “Law and Order: SVU.” There are very few shows I’ll watch reruns of – particularly reruns of reruns – but when it comes to these two shows, I just can’t seem to get enough. I discovered a book that was written using the stories of real-life events that the episodes are either based on or that they reference. I put the book on my Christmas wish list, and was very excited to find it waiting for me Christmas morning. I read the book slowly, taking time to think through each story, analyzing and categorizing the material in my mind. The book, titled “Criminal Minds: Sociopaths, Serial Killers, and Other Deviants,” by Jeff Mariotte, was really terrific. While reading that physical book, I decided that I’d like to choose an audiobook to listen to at my cleaning job that was of a similar vein. Normally I don’t care much for mysteries or detective stories. It seems peculiar, I think, that I don’t particularly like them, considering my love of this genre when it comes to TV. As I was perusing the library’s collection of such books, I was overwhelmed by all the various series available, and all the authors with whom I was unfamiliar. I found a book that looked like a possibility, and with no evidence that it was part of a series, I decided to give it a try.  I didn’t want to get involved in a series, because I didn’t want to feel pulled into reading all of the books. However, as it turns out…this book is part of a series! I didn’t know that until after I finished it, though. Oh well. It was so good I’m glad there are more out there! 🙂

The book I found was “You Belong To Me” by Karen Rose. It was really well-written, with plenty of ways that certain situations could end up, which means it kept me guessing. I was always wondering how certain people or events were connected, and in the end, she did a great job tying everything together. I hate when authors leave parts of the story open for interpretation or whatever, particularly when it’s this kind of book. Perhaps a motivational/inspirational book could get away with that, but not a mystery. At least, not for me.

I’ll give a quick overview of the basic plot of the story without giving anything away, mostly because I hope all of you read it and don’t want any of it ruined for you when you do! It’s the story of a man whose sister was raped, beaten, and left for dead on her prom night. As a result of this tragedy, his family fell apart, and he wants revenge for the pain caused by those involved in the horrible event. At first, he doesn’t know who to blame for what happened; however, one of the people involved comes clean when he learns he’s dying of a terminal illness. From that man, the brother of the murdered girl gets the name of all of those involved – of which there are quite a few, actually. He decides to avenge her death by killing anyone who had something to do with her dying. He comes up with a terrific scheme, involving a few aliases to throw off investigators, as well as some really devious moves that you’ll never see coming. There are several stories happening at once; however, it’s really quite easy to keep track of which is which. And yes, they do all converge at the end. Plus, the book has all the makings of a great story: good guys, bad guys, a love interest, a hero, etc. You know, the archetypal stuff. I really truly enjoyed listening to the book and guessing along the way. I highly recommend this book, and am interested in reading/listening to more of the Karen Rose books.

Next up: “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children” by Ransom Riggs. I just started listening to it last week, so it’ll probably be a bit before I’m finished. So far, though, I love it.

 

About angelalee3

I'm a 28 year old single gal who is passionate about trying new things. I am a voracious reader and I enjoy sharing the delight I find in books with others. I like to experiment with artistic/crafty hobbies, and am often nurturing a newly discovered creative venue. I love my cats, country music, and Fiona Apple. My dream guy is Matthew Gray Gubler, and if you're not sure who he is, well, you should probably go look him up. :) I went to school to learn the theory of education, but have had the desire to teach, learn, and share with others in my heart from the very beginning. Even though I am currently not teaching in the classroom, I do my best to inspire myself and others to discover and grow as often as I can.

Leave a Reply

